The era of smartwatches is still relatively new; they’re like the toddlers of technology. We can’t say that they aren’t incredibly cool – I’m sure a hundred years ago people wouldn’t have been able to wrap their heads around the fact that such a small device could hold the power of a telephone, a television, and a radio all in one. However, in this day and age, doesn’t the smartwatch sound all too familiar? I recall Apple releasing their very first iWatch and thinking, “What’s the point? It’s just an incredibly small version of every other smart phone to date.” Apparently, I’m not the only one that thought this.

As I was scrolling through Reddit the other day I came across a pretty popular article entitled, “Not on My Watch”. Intrigued, I clicked on the link to find that my views on smartwatches weren’t exclusively mine own. According to the article written by the South China Morning Post, the rotating CEO of one of the world’s biggest makers of smart products, Huawei Technology, doesn’t see the production of smartwatches in our future. During a Q&A at the company’s Global Analyst Summit 2017 held in Shenzhen, Huawei Technology’s CEO, Eric Xu Zhijun, stated: “I am always confused as to what smartwatches are for when we have smartphones. Therefore, when the smartwatch team in Huawei presents their ideas to me with great excitement, I keep reminding them to consider whether there are tangible needs [for these products] in the market.” The company has already released two versions of smartwatches but it doesn’t look like we’ll be seeing any more anytime soon. According to the Q&A, Zhijun could never see himself wearing a smartwatch.

Android-Wear

I can hear all of you reading this already… “But Delaney, what about Apple and Samsung? They sell smartwatches and they’re one of the biggest producers of technology out there! How could you say such a thing about our smartwatches?!” Listen, I get it. Even I see people walking around with their fancy smartwatches on their wrists looking tech savvy on a daily basis. I’m not saying they’re not out there, I’m just saying don’t be surprised if the fad dies sooner than later. According to the principal analyst at Forrester Research, Thomas Husson, “the overall smartwatch market is not growing as fast as many anticipated. [Their] data shows that among the consumers who bought a smartwatch, a significant percentage stop using it.”

It’s simply another example of the hedonic treadmill us millennial’s keep falling into time and time again. We absolutely crave everything new and exciting – we have to have it. Then, once we get it and are used to everything it has to offer, we get bored. Once we get bored we’re onto the next thing like it was nothing. I can admit to falling into a trance of wanting and needing only to become indifferent to it; we’ve all done it and we’re all capable of doing it again. So, although nothing is set in stone yet, it looks like this may be the end of a (short) era. If you’re a smartwatch user, you may as well enjoy it as long as your hedonic treadmill allows!

