disney

As a child, I thrived on Disney. My personal favorite being Snow White, I reveled in the hour and a half that I was able to be transported to a world of singing animals, evil stepmothers, and the inevitable happy ending. Even as an 18 year old I can’t get enough of the vibrant colors and catchy tunes, finding myself belting out the ever-so-popular “Let It Go” in the shower from time to time. Disney is my “antidepressant” in a way, it’s what I find solace in whenever anything goes wrong. But as I grew from a naive toddler into a thoughtful adult, I realized that Disney has done so much more than just to cheer me up after I failed a test or got into a fight with my boyfriend.

I was searching through the internet one day, as I usually do while ignoring my responsibilities, and came upon a BuzzFeed article that I just had to click on. My computer then led me to a page titled “21 Invaluable Life Lessons We Learned From Disney Movies”. As I scrolled down the page, I came to realize just how much Disney was trying to teach us in our formative years, each movie having their own unique “moral of the story”. This inspired me to make my own interpretation of five of my favorite Disney movies’ true meanings.

1) Peter Pan

peter-pan

A story of a boy who refuses to grow old, this movie brings out the inner child in each of us. But the true meaning of this movie is that no matter how old we get, we will always have our youth and our imagination. Growing old may be inevitable, but growing up is not.

 

2) Mulan

mulan

 

The moral of this story can be taken from a feministic point of view. Mulan proves that no matter your gender, you still have the strength and intelligence to conquer great feats.

 

 

 

3) Beauty and the Beast

beauty-and-the-beast

 

Possibly the best example of inner beauty, this Disney classic movie shows that no matter what your physical beauty, your inner beauty is most important and will always shine brighter.

 

4) Dumbo

dumbo

This movie still makes me cry today, and its lesson is extremely applicable to so many people in today’s society. Dumbo teaches us that different isn’t bad at all, it’s what makes us ourselves.

 

 

 

And last but not least…

 

5) Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

snow-white

 

I had to put this one on here because Snow White is my all time favorite! The message that I got from this story, is that kindness trumps all. If you have a kind heart, you will make it to your happy ending

 

 

Disney was a theme in almost every young child’s life. It brought happiness and joy when your favorite character would sing your favorite song in your favorite movie. But what we didn’t realize as three year olds was that Disney was trying to implement good morals in us. These movies are good for more than just a laugh or a smile. They teach us that if we follow their life lessons, we can all get our own happily ever after.

 

 

 

 

 

