I never really considered how contagious memes were until I walked out of the elevator to my floor on move in day.  I walked down the hall to my room and quickly noticed that every single door had its very own Pepe The Frog meme.

IMG_7461IMG_7460

After being here for over a month now, I’ve seen how this floor theme has really weirdly brought our floor  together; during our first floor meeting we all walked around and looked at the different Pepes. In a really cliche way, memes like Pepe do a good job of showing people what they may have in common.

Internet memes seriously do bring people together, as terrible and cheesy as it sounds.  The internet has helped people bond over common interest for years now and this is just an extension of that.  Memes have become like a strange little language that people who spend (maybe too much) time on the internet will understand.  Some people will even take this as far as making entire posts combining multiple memes.

I recently discovered the breadstick meme, which happens to be a prime example of how this ‘meme culture,’ if you will, has created its own language.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 9.35.51 PMScreen Shot 2015-10-05 at 9.36.13 PM

If none of these seem familiar to you, here is one that everyone on the planet definitely heard about. I’m serious.  Even my grandma called me to ask about this one.  Is it blue and black or white and gold?????? That seemed to be the million dollar question when “the dress” phenomenon took the internet by storm.  Dressgate, as it was named according to its Wikipedia page, went so viral that news stations big and small picked up on it.
Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 10.01.40 PM         dress1

Memes range largely in length, popularity, variation, etc. but yet still manage to make people laugh all across the globe.  Anyone can post/repost them at any time and at any pace.  They combine some of my favorite things: stupid humor and the internet.  Memes have definitely become internet-wide inside jokes.  Can’t live with them, can’t live without them.

