I’m going to be honest with you, I don’t have an opinion about music streaming services. I don’t want to be the hypocrite who says “Yeah, music streaming services like Spotify, Amazon Music, and Beats Music, are not properly musicians,” and then have a Spotify account, an Amazon Music account, and a Pandora account. My bad.

But where I have to draw the line with my uncertainty with music streaming services is with Tidal. Jay Z, no one is going to pay $20 a month for “high-quality music.” Honestly, if anyone just plays around with the equalizer on their phone, tablet, computer, whatever, you can hear your music better and hear things that you never heard before. I get it, musicians hear their music differently in the studio than on the radio, I know, I’ve been there. But the logic behind paying $20 a month, signing already incredibly famous and wealthy artists such as Beyoncé, Nicki Minaj, Rihanna, Calvin Harris, and Kanye West, and then originally withholding some of their content exclusively to Tidal such as Rihanna’s powerful music video for “American Oxygen,” this all seems really sketchy.

I know, music is an art, and streaming services do not compensate musicians properly, but you, and all of the other artists that signed, are not going to get any money out this either because no one is going to pay that ridiculous price. Holding back popular music and content from the public (and so help me God if Rihanna’s next album gets released exclusively on Tidal at first) is only going to promote more piracy and stealing. I think Lily Allen said it best:

I’m hoping that Tidal isn’t going to be big enough that it sets back the music industry. Just as the industry is getting to be more open and allow newer musicians to make it and be known, excluding them isn’t going to better the industry.

#TIDALforALL isn’t Tidal for all when you’re excluding a large amount of your market because they can’t afford it.

