I know I’m not the only one who binge watches shows on Netflix. I used to watch TV to pass the time but recently I just can’t bring myself to turn the TV on and go through all the channels to find something I want to watch. It’s easier to just look something up on Netflix, Hulu, or any other online streaming service. And I guess I’m not the only one. According to this Experian Marketing Services, there’s been a 2% increase of households cutting the cord.  A lot of people have decided to opt out of buying cable TV packages since they’ve become so much more expensive. Who wants to pay for 50 premium channels when you’re only going to watch on maybe 4 of them?

o-CABLE-COMPANIES-HULU-NETFLIX-570

The whole idea of cord-cutting, cutting expensive cable connections, scares some people and I completely understand. How else are you suppose to watch the big game live?! Well, to be quiet honest, I don’t know the answer to that question, but I do know that I’d rather be paying for something I use. Streaming services like Netflix and Amazon are changing the way we get our entertainment. From streaming our favorite TV shows to creating they’re own. Shows like Netflix’s Orange is the New Black and Amazon’s Transparent (both VERY good shows that I recommend watching) are just as good, and maybe even better, than some of the shows on cable TV.

In my opinion, these companies are only going to get bigger and more and more services are going to be offered (I know HBO announced they were going to offer a subscription-based service for HBO Go). The option to cut the cord is going to be much more appealing and sooner or later no one is going to have Cable TV anymore. The only thing stopping people from cutting the cord completely would be the high speed internet access that comes with TV bundles from providers.

I would love to know how you guys think of this. I mean do you guys think we could live in a world with no cable TV? Or do you think that cable TV is going to fight back against shift?

